December 15, 2015

December 15, 2015

              The Miner County Board of Commissioners met in regular session December 15, 2015, in the Miner County Courthouse.  Members present:  Roger Wentland, Tom Reisch, Garrett Gassman, Voni Durant and Alex Protsch.  Absent: none.  Chairman Wentland called the meeting to order.  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.  Motion by Protsch, seconded by Gassman and carried to approve the agenda.

              Commissioners acknowledged receipt of the following correspondence:  Miner County Sheriff’s Office & Dispatch Service Reports for October; Minnehaha Co. Board of Commissioners Juvenile Detention/Volunteers of America closing; SD Dept. of Corrections Juvenile Justice Detention Cost Sharing Fund; SD Dept. of Revenue-Darcy Albert Certified Appraiser Assessor; and thank you from 4-H member Taylor Reisch. 

                Carol Jandera and Kasey Abbott of Direct Digital Control provided information to upgrade the temperature controls within the courthouse.  Custodian Colleen Zobel also joined the meeting.  After review of the 3 different options ranging from $5500 to over $70,000, it was requested by the commission for Direct Digital Control to provide an updated quote to include upgrades to the control of the boiler with installation of a combustion air damper and actuator and controls for 10 zones (5 on first floor and 5 on second floor).  The proposal will be drafted and resubmitted to the board of their consideration. 

                Brad Stangohr of Ulteig gave an update on several bridge projects requiring engineering services.

                Highway Superintendent Ron Krempges reported on information obtained on the Community Access Grant.  First District of Local Governments would assist in completing the grant application.  Before applying for the grant a maintenance agreement must be in place between all entities.  Krempges will continue to obtain information and possible costs.  Krempges also updated the board on bridge projects, graveling, equipment repairs and other highway matters. 

                Sherri Matthews of Wellmark explained the 2016 health insurance renewal.  One of the 2015 plans will not be available in 2016.  Therefore, it was moved by Reisch and seconded by Durant to adopt the following resolution.


                WHEREAS, the 2015 health insurance Enhanced Blue 750 is not available for the 2016 renewal and

                WHEREAS, the 2016 Enhanced Blue 1000 will have a 6.99% increase in total premiums and

                WHEREAS, the 2016 Enhanced Blue 2750 will have a 11.44% increase in total premiums

                THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the county shall offer both plans to employees basing the county’s share of premiums on the 2016 Enhanced Blue 1000 and

                BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED those employees who choose the 2016 Enhanced Blue 2750 shall pay all of the difference between the Enhanced Blue 1000 benefit and the Enhanced Blue 2750 premium.  

                Voting aye:  Resich, Durant, Protsch, Gassman and Wentland.  Voting nay:  none.  Resolution adopted this 15th day of December 2015. 

                                                                                                                Roger Wentland, Chairman

                                                                                                                Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan Connor, Miner County Auditor


                It was moved by Durant, seconded by Gassman and carried to authorize the auditor to make the following operating transfers as provided for in the 2015 budget; Emergency Management $30,000; 911 $50,000.

                It was moved by Reisch, seconded by Gassman and carried to approve the 2016 CHN contract with the SD Dept. of Health providing for 1248 hours of nursing services in Miner County in 2016.  

                Commissioners were informed that various requests have been made by the public to increase the hours of county offices requiring them to be open through the noon hour.  The board discussed staffing requirements that would be needed to comply with the request.  At this time the board made no changes to the current office hours. (8:00-12 1:00-5:00) 

                Colleen Zobel reviewed custodial projects.  Kathy Zulk has accepted the position to assist with floor refinishing.  Zobel also requested permission to acquire the services of Myrl’s Steamcleaning to clean the window blinds located within all courthouse offices.  The board instructed her to proceed with the project. 

                It was moved by Durant, seconded by Protsch and carried to enter into executive session (SDCL 1-25-2 (1)) at 11:52.  Returned to regular session 12:10.

                Treasurer Debbie Eggert informed the board that as of December 31, 2015 her office will no longer be a US Passport Acceptance Agency.

              Claims allowed: Mitchell Regional Ambulance $300.00 ambulance transport; ICAP $603.08 community action payment; LexisNexis Matthew Bender $129.00, Thomson Reuters-West $92.25 law books; Lewis & Clark Behavioral Health $160.00 mental illness hearing expense; Miner Co Pioneer $224.30 publishing; Cardmember Services $75.48, Mike Clary $81.00 travel; Cora Schwader $489.99 equipment; Alliance Communications $300.00, Santel Communications $55.12, Triotel Communications $167.53 911 charges; SD Dept. of Transportation $580.75 Contracted Maintenance; Geotek $290.00 Engineering; Howard Farmers Coop $10703.98, Sturdevant’s $75.57 Fuel; Miner County Treasurer $223.68 postage; Aramark $125.06, Microfilm Imaging $450.00 Rent; Howard Farmers Coop $54.36; Office Peeps $286.31 Audio Electronics $120.00, SDN Communications $410.50, Al’s Service $257.67, Canova Service Center $36.75, Graham Tire Co $245.30, Hard Drive Outlet $131.00, Howard Auto Clinic $212.44, Klinkhammer Plumbing $57.91, Marshall & Swift/Boeckh $1,765.20, Ultra $67.50 repairs; Krug Products $101.05, Michael Johnson Construction $544.05 Road Materials; Homestead Bldg. Sup. $53.94, Howard Farmers Coop $5.69, Office Peeps $1162.01, Postmaster $136.00, Rafferty Robbins $64.56, Rusty’s 61.20, Sturdevant’s $210.29, Thomson Reuters $184.50, Tom’s Hardware $77.92, Boyer Ford Trucks $381.82, Butler Machinery $26.52, Dakota Fluid Power $714.68, Dawson Construction $448.58, GCR Tire $8722.55, Gillund Enterprises $420.72, Kimball Midwest $218.90, Matheson Tri Gas $829.72, Stan Houston Equip. $568.54, TrueNorth Steel $1867.40, Wheelco $2.45, Acuity Specialty Products $441.78, Dakota Data Shred $57.50, Dust-Tex $114.98, Gall’s $59.53, Girton Adams Co $175.00, Karla Neises $162.86, SD Dept. of Health $575.00 supplies; Alliance Communications $812.54, Verizon Wireless $69.85 telephone; City of Howard $1434.87, Excel Energy $10.83, Central Electric Coop $110.20 Utilities. 

                The meeting was adjourned to December 29, 2015.  Dated this 15th of December 2015. 

                                                                                                Roger Wentland, Chairman

                                                                                                Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan Connor, Miner County Auditor    


Contact Info

Please see department pages for direct contact information.

Physical Address: 

Miner County Courthouse

Park Ave. & Main St

401 N. Main St.

Howard, SD 57349


Office Hours: 

7:30am-12:00pm & 12:30pm-4:00pm

Monday - Friday

(Sheriff/Dispatch Office Open 24/7)