Clerk of Courts

Miner County is part of the 3rd Judicial Circuit.  The 3rd Circuit Courts are general trial courts with 6 Circuit Court Judges and 2 Magistrate Judges.  Administrative direction for the Circuit is provided by a Presiding Judge and Circuit Court Administrator, both in offices out of Brookings.  All court staff are employees of the State of South Dakota.


Judicial Staff:

Hon. Gregory J. Stoltenburg

Patty Hartsel, Reporter

Phone: 605-688-5705

Fax:     605-688-4838


Court Services:

Jason Schneider, CSO

Phone:  605-256-5645

Fax:     605-256-5012


To learn more about the Miner County judicial system, please visit the South Dakota Unified Judicial System website.

If you owe a payment to the Miner County Clerk of Court, you may come to the Miner County Courthouse during the posted office hours, mail your check or money order, or make your payment online here.  A dropbox outside the Clerk of Court office is also available for payments brought to the courthouse after office hours.

Click here for a listing of United Judicial System forms available online.

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

Miner Clerk of Courts

PO Box 265

Howard, SD 57349

Phone:  (605) 772-4612

Fax:       (605) 772-4412


Physical Address: 

Miner County Courthouse

Park Ave. & Main St

401 N. Main St.

Howard, SD 57349

2nd Floor


Office Hours: 

Mon - Wed - Fri

subject to change

You are encouraged to call ahead to make sure someone is available to assist you.