February 19, 2019

February 19, 2019


            The Miner County Board of Commissioners met in regular session February 19, 2019 in the Miner County Courthouse.  Members present:  Roger Wentland, Garrett Gassman, Tom Reisch, Voni Durant and Alex Protsch.  Absent:  none.  Chairman Wentland called the meeting to order.  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.  Motion by Protsch, seconded by Reisch and carried to approve the agenda.  The minutes of the February 5th, February 8th and February 12th meetings were approved.  No one appeared for Public Comment. 

It was moved by Durant, seconded by Gassman and carried to authorize the auditor to pay the following claims:  CLAIMS ALLOWED: SD Dept. of Revenue $611.63 HUMAN SERVICE CENTER PATIENTS; Alliance $150.00 911 CHARGES; ICAP $654.33 COMMUNITY ACTION PAYMENT; SD Sheriff’s Assn $571.67 DUES; Central Electric Coop $64.01 ELECTRICITY; Cardmember Services $38.50, Sturdevant’s $43.68, Wingen’s Garage $159.50 FUEL; Fidelity Abstract & Title Co. $12,806.64 LAND; Lewis & Clark Behavioral Health $165.00, Lincoln Co Auditor $288.40 MENTAL ILLNESS HEARING EXPENSE; Rapid City Police Dept. $18.30 POSTAGE; Lake Co Sheriff’s Office $2,550.00 PRISONER CARE; Miner Co Pioneer $417.06 PUBLISHING; Office Peeps $159.52 REPAIRS; Boyer Trucks $663.64, Butler Machinery $2,046.90, Campbell Supply $90.85, Dakota Data Shred $78.30, Dakota Fluid Power $341.75, Home Service Water Conditioning $10.80, Kimball Midwest $456.83, Office Peeps $404.04, Power Promotions $69.40, Rusty’s $107.96, SD Sheriff’s Assn $20.00, Sturdevant’s $871.70, Titan Machinery $56.00, Tom’s Hardware $86.37, Wheelco Brake & Supply $178.06 SUPPLIES; Verizon $94.66 TELEPHONE; SD Dept. of Public Safety $2,340.00 TELETYPE; Ramkota Hotel Pierre $480.00, SD Assn Co Commissioners $400.00 TRAVEL.

            The board acknowledged receipt of the correspondence and request from Safety, Health & Consumer Council to place a link on the county website.  It was unanimously decided to not allow placement of outside links on the Miner County website.  Miner County Dispatch & Sheriff’s January reports were also received.

It was moved by Reisch, seconded by Protsch and carried to approve the agreement for general law enforcement services between Howard City and Miner County for 2019 & 2020. 

            A public hearing was held as advertised for the Board of Commissioners to consider the application of a retail on-sale liquor license from Sandy Scheuren (Coonhunter Inn) to operate outside of a municipality (Lot 1 of Lot 3 of SW ¼, Epiphany) for the 2019 licensing period.  It was moved by Durant, seconded by Gassman and carried to approve the on-sale liquor license application of Sandy Scheuren (Coonhunter Inn).  

            The board presented a plaque to Bob Calmus for his years of service to Miner County as the Emergency Manager & Weed Supervisor.

            Highway Superintendent Ron Krempges discussed equipment repairs and other highway matters. 

            The board adjourned as a Board of Commissioners and reconvened as a Planning & Zoning Board.  Todd Kays of First District of Local Govts, Miner County Zoning Administrator Tami Severson, and Jason Feldhaus joined the meeting.  Discussion of the current zoning manual & suggested changes were reviewed.  Further review will take place at the March 19th meeting beginning at 10:00 a.m.  The board adjourned as a Planning and Zoning Board and reconvened as a Board of Commissioners.

            Having no further business the board adjourned to March 5th.  Dated this 19th day of February, 2019.


                                                                                             Roger Wentland, Chairman

                                                                                             Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan Connor, Miner County Auditor


Contact Info

Please see department pages for direct contact information.

Physical Address: 

Miner County Courthouse

Park Ave. & Main St

401 N. Main St.

Howard, SD 57349


Office Hours: 

7:30am-12:00pm & 12:30pm-4:00pm

Monday - Friday

(Sheriff/Dispatch Office Open 24/7)